Mission and Bodies

Mission of the Foundation

The Foundation's purpose is the promotion of teacher training in Switzerland through the promotion of education and further education of teacher trainers.

Bodies of the Foundation

The Board of trustees and the Expert committee are the bodies of the Foundation. Together, they form the Foundation conference, which is in session once a year.

The Board of trustees determines the amount that can be allocated each year, and acts as supervisory body of the Foundation. Gabriele Aebli, daughter of the founders Hans and Verena Aebli-Näf, presides over the Board.

Susanne Soppelsa-Aebli, Hans-Kaspar Aebli, Christine Aebli, the financial expert Josef Schnyder, and the president of the Expert committee, Elisabeth Hardegger, are also members of the Board.

The Expert committee reviews the applications submitted to the Foundation. It assesses the applications according to the Statutes of the Foundation and scientific criteria of the Expert Committee. The Expert committee decides autonomously on the allocation of the financial resources annually granted by the Board of trustees.

Current members of the Expert Committee

  • Prof. Elisabeth Hardegger, President of the Expert committee, Abteilungsleiterin Eingangsstufe an der Pädagogischen Hochschule Zürich
  • Gabriele Aebli, Dipl. Chem. ETH, President of the Board of trustees (in an advisory capacity)
  • Prof. em. Dr. Matthias Baer, Pädagogische Hochschule Zürich / Institut für Erziehungswissenschaft der Universität Zürich
  • Prof. Dr. Doris Edelmann, Leiterin des Instituts für Forschung, Entwicklung und Evaluation sowie Vorsitzende der Kommission für Forschung und Entwicklung und Mitglied der Hochschulleitung, Pädagogische Hochschule Bern
  • Prof. Dr. Kathrin Krammer, Prorektorin Ausbildung sowie Co-Leiterin der Arbeitsgruppe 'Videobasierte Lehr- und Lernberatung', Pädagogische Hochschule Luzern
  • Prof. em. Dr. Alois Niggli, Pädagogische Hochschule Freiburg CH und Universität Freiburg CH
  • Prof. em. Dr. Kurt Reusser, Institut für Erziehungswissenschaft der Universität Zürich
  • Prof. Honoraire Dr. Bernard Schneuwly, Section des sciences de l'éducation, Université de Genève
  • Prof. Dr. Fritz C. Staub, Professor für Gymnasialpädagogik sowie Lehr- und Lernforschung, Direktor Lehrerinnen- und Lehrerbildung Maturitätsschulen, Institut für Erziehungswissenschaft, Universität Zürich